Meetings - AGM - April 14, 2021


Dear members,

Your Central Okanagan Branch held a successful annual general meeting on April 14, 2021 in spite of COVID-19 and Zoom restrictions.

The registration, conducted by the communications team, started at 1 p.m.

The meeting was called to order at 1:30 p.m. sharp by president Guy Bird and the quorum of 16, established by the national board of directors for the 2021 AGM, was met with a total of 21 members, including the board of directors.  The president gave a warm welcome and thanked everyone who joined in for our 2021 virtual branch AGM.

The agenda was reviewed and approved as distributed.

Guy introduced the existing board members:  Jan Redlich, Beth Frank, Rick Ingelbeen, Helen Crabb, Ethel Robidoux, Larry Crabb, and Guy Bird.  Guy also introduced Mame McCrea who was appointed since the last AGM.  The resolution to accept the appointments was accepted.

The minutes from the March 30, 2019 AGM were reviewed and approved as distributed.

A moment of silence was observed for members deceased since the last AGM. 

“They are gone but not forgotten”


The annual branch reports for 2019 and 2020 were presented by president Guy Bird.

Guy reviewed all the activities that were carried out in 2019 – it was a good year! 

The year 2020 was very different as COVID-19 hit early in the year and most of the planned activities were cancelled except for the Salvation Army Kettle Campaign and the Kelowna Community Resources Christmas family. The branch reports were adopted as presented.

The financial reports for 2019 and 2020 were presented in detail and reviewed individually by president Guy Bird for the treasurer. Mervyn Scott, the independent reviewer, explained that he had reviewed the 2019 and 2020 financial statements, and everything is in good shape. The bank balances were verified, and all expenditures accounted for.  The 2019 and 2020 financial statements were approved as presented.

The 2021 budget was reviewed by Guy and adopted as presented.

The branch financial resolutions were presented by president Guy Bird. 

Guy reviewed and explained each reserve in detail and in particular the desire to collapse the branch defense benefit fund and remit the amount to national to be added to the national defense of benefit fund. The members approved the financial resolutions as presented.

The election of officers was carried out by vice-president and chair of the nominating team, Jan Redlich. Jan read the names of members who let their names stand for the board and indicated they had accepted to serve. Jan also advised the proposed term for each position. There were no questions from those in attendance. The 2021 slate of officers was approved as presented.  

Mervyn Scott was appointed the reviewer for the following year.

Closing Remarks by Greg Corbett: “Let’s give a thank You to the executive for all their time and effort and especially in these difficult times”.  Thank You Greg for your kind words.


Congratulations to the new board!
Central Okanagan Branch board of directors 2021 – 2022


Guy Bird

Vice President

Jan Redlich


Rick Ingelbeen


Beth Frank



Communications – Website Lead

Mame McCrea

Care and Concern – Lead

Helen Crabb

Director at Large

Larry Crabb

Director at Large

Ethel Robidoux