Annual General Meeting Minutes Royal Canadian Legion, Sarnia, ON April 13, 2022

Branch web site *https://www.federalretirees.ca/Bluewater*

Present -

President - Chris Hawksworth Treasurer - Diane Kerr Director of Membership - Bill Mason Outreach Coordinator - Pat Mason Recruitment and Engagement Director - Shawn Barker IT and Web Site Coordinator - Doug Kerr Member at Large - Murray Lester Secretary - Robert Jackson

Regrets -

Advocacy Chair - Gloria Cayea

President Chris Hawksworth opened the meeting at 12:03 pm.

The meeting began with the approval of the 2022 Annual General Meeting (AGM) agenda by a show of hands.

The minutes of the 2021 AGM were then approved as tabled by a show of hands.

Chris Hawksworth gave the President's report and introduced Branch guest Bruce Challis, Ontario Branch Service Coordinator. Chris emphasized the importance of the upcoming Branch elections, noting he was not seeking re-election as President, and that fellow executive member Diane Kerr was resigning her position as Treasurer, thus both positions were up for election. In addition Board member Shawn Barker, Recruitment and Engagement Director, is also resigning from the Board.

Chris concluded by recognizing Diane Kerr's long service with the Branch, Board and Executive with a token of the membership's appreciation.

Chris Hawksworth said grace following which lunch was served.

The meeting resumed with an overview provided by Bruce Challis of the importance of Bluewater Branch having a President and Treasurer, and provided a summary of the upcoming Ontario district meeting and National AGM.

Diane Kerr gave the Treasurer's report.

- The Bluewater Branch Reserves were presented, noting the Reserves total \$5500.
- The reviewed Financial Statements for the year 2021 showing an earnings of \$1881.04 were presented. Moved by Murray Lester and seconded by Bob Jackson, and approved.
- Approval of the 2022 Budget as presented, showing a loss of \$2672.00, moved by Murray Lester and seconded by Bob Jackson, and approved.
- Peter Thompson is approved as our 2022 Financial Reviewer. Moved by Murray Lester and seconded by Lyn Davie, and approved.

Chris Hawksworth, in the absence of Gloria Cayea, gave an update on the activities of the Advocacy Chair.

Bill Mason, Director of Membership, gave an overview of the membership numbers. The Branch currently has 513 members. We have roughly maintained our overall membership numbers,

however what we gained through new members we lost through the passing of members and lapsed memberships.

Pat Mason, Outreach Coordinator, informed the meeting while most members can be reached via e-mail, some members are 'offline' and require postal mailing in the event written information such as AGM notification is required. This results in some mail being returned as undeliverable. Pat asked anyone who is aware of members not being notified by telephone/e-mail/mail to let her know. As always Pat ended by thanking the callers for their assistance.

Doug Kerr informed the meeting our website usage was down over most of the past year however over the past two months it increased again. Doug encourages all members to register their e-mail with CRM and assured everyone privacy safeguards are in place such that members can opt into, or out of, mailings. Doug is also willing to assist members when registering with CRM, subject to his availability.

Chris Hawksworth opened the floor to questions. Mary Stevens inquired about the status of the Branch's 50/50 draws. Chris explained given NAFR's responsibilities and financial obligations as a not-for-profit organization, along with provincial and municipal gaming regulations and requirements, the Branch can not hold 50/50 draws.

Shawn Barker chaired the elections of the President and Treasurer positions.

- The floor was opened for nominations for Treasurer and Bill Steyn was nominated. There being no further nominations, Bill Steyn was declared Treasurer by a show of hands.
- The floor was next opened for nominations for President and Lawrie Lachapelle was nominated by Barb Fleet. There being no further nominations, Lawrie Lachapelle was declared President by a show of hands.

The meeting adjourned at 2 pm.

Prepared by

Secretary. - R. Jackson

Certified by

President - Lawrie Lachapelle